The Age of Entitlement


Image from justinbieberzone.com

It’s no secret that I want to work in the entertainment industry, at least not to friends, family, and anyone who’s been near me for longer than ten minutes. So it’s only natural that I read, watch, and listen to a lot of interviews to stay up to date on my gossip.

After listening to an interview done with Justin Bieber by a Detroit radio station, I couldn’t help but feel annoyed at how entitled and self-righteous the interviewer acted. I couldn’t help but feel annoyed at society and entertainment interviewers in general on how self-righteous and entitled they act when it comes to celebrities. Too many times have I read an article on a blog bashing a singer or actress to hell and back because they wouldn’t reveal details about their personal life. Too many times have I seen celebrities on TMZ and shows like it ask camera men to not follow them or film them, only to have their wishes disrespected. If a celebrity were to ever raise a concern in an interview about it, they would get the response that “this is what you signed up for.”

Clearly, it’s not.

I am but an amateur in the business, so maybe they don’t play by the same rules we do out here in the “real world.” In this world, at least the one that I was raised in, we treat everyone with respect. Everyone. It doesn’t matter what your feelings are towards the individual, you just do it. And respecting them doesn’t mean not calling them nasty names (to their face) or swearing in front of them; it means respecting boundaries.

In the entertainment world, I have seen boundaries get breached with no questions asked. In the entertainment world, Rihanna can be reminded over and over again of her private shame and be made out to be a victim by the media, and then criticized when she doesn’t want to play nice and be the victim that they’ve cast her as. Miley Cyrus can be painted as a pothead party girl with an attitude problem, when she has had an overwhelmingly negative experience with the paparazzi and probably just wants to be left alone to drink her Starbucks with her fiance in peace. Lindsay Lohan can be made out to be a strung out coke addict, when all evidence points to her trying to get her life back together to make a comeback.

The most disturbing part of it all? Society tends to side with the media, regardless of all the evidence given.

The question is, where did this entitlement come from? To me, I believe that the answer is social media. When tweets and Facebook statuses are delivered in real time, it’s no wonder that we, as a society, are so used to instant gratification, that we demand our entertainment programming to give us every little asinine detail of the lives of One Direction that we forget that they’re humans too.

We aren’t entitled to anything. I don’t care if Selena Gomez made a joke about Harry Styles going after her and her boyfriend’s moms. You are not in the right for bringing that up in an inappropriate fashion (“Do you worry about Harry, you know, when he’s around your mom since it seems that he likes older women?”) when the talent is already obviously annoyed with you. You are not in the right for pushing buttons, and continuing to push those buttons when the conversation has gotten uncomfortable. You are not in the right to act surprised when the talent hangs up on you for being disrespectful to them, when in all honesty, they could’ve acted just as childish as you.

Welcome to the age of entitlement, everyone. Try to keep your blood pressure down. I know I’m trying.

The interview in question can be listened to here.

Comments

  1. This is a great article Carina, I couldn’t agree with you more!

    • Carina Browder says:

      Thank you! It’s just something that’s been building up inside of me, and that one interview really set me off.

      • I know how you feel, that’s how mad I got when I saw an article bashing Diggy the other day, leading to my article on him. People never give celebrities the same compassion they expect, it’s like they don’t realize they’re human too.

Tell the Truth

